About Us



Nutrition Division is mandated to coordinate all the nutrition programs in the Ministry of Health, Nutrition and Indigenous Medicine implement by the different institutions (Family Health Bureau, Health Education Bureau, Non-Communicable Disease control Unit, Estate & Urban Health Unit, Medical Research Institute, Young, Elderly & disabled Person’s Health Unit, Food Control Unit, and Provincial Health Authorities), other ministries and Non Governmental Organizations. Coordination is an integral element of management through planning, organizing, implementing, monitoring and evaluation. It harmonizes all the nutrition related activities so as to facilitate working together to achieve nutrition related goals under the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Nutrition Division is headed by the Director Nutrition Division. Roles and responsibilities of the Directorate are supported by 01 Deputy Director (Planning), 01 Consultant Community Physician, 02 Medical Officers, 01 Medical Officer – Health Informatics, 04 Assistant Directors, 01 Nutritionist, 05 Development Assistants, 02 Health Management assistants, 01 Information& Communication Technical Assistant, 03 Minor staff and 04 drivers.


Nutrition Coordination Division was established under the Ministry of Planning to coordinate multi-sectoral nutrition programs in the country. In 2001 this division was transferred to the Ministry of Health, Nutrition and Welfare under the Extra Ordinary Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, number 1,215/14 and dated 20th December 2001.


Our Vision:     Sri Lanka towards a nourished nation


Our Mission:    Coordinate nutrition programmes within the Ministry of Health, Nutrition and Indigenous medicine, liaise with other ministries, monitor and evaluate nutritional interventions to uplift the nutrition status of the nation.